

IBLIC REI

I FNC

AWARD OF EXCELLENCE

E-NEWSLETTER

The Rose Tree Media

Board of School Directors held a Legislative Meeting on November 16, 2023



MEETING HIGHLIGHTS

Thank You To Outgoing Board Members!

The Board recognized both Susan Layne and Kelly Schaffer for their four years of service on the Rose Tree Media School District Board of Directors. Susan served on the Ad-Hoc Policy Committee and provided meaningful collaboration to move forward the important work of the Board and the District. Kelly was the chairperson of the Education and Wellness Committee and was a member of the Communications Committee.

On December 5, 2023, the Board of School Directors will hold a Reorganization Meeting to elect a president and vice president and to formally seat newly elected board members who were voted into office during the November elections.



District Receives Clean Financial Audit Opinion

For the fiscal year ending on June 30, 2023, the District did not receive any "exceptions or comments" from independent auditors. Once again, an independent auditing firm has offered a "clean" opinion of the District's financial statements. This determination means that the District's financial statements are free from material misstatements and that the District's operations are in compliance with governance principles and applicable laws.

During his Superintendent's Report, Dr. Meloche recognized Dr. Vanessa Scott, Heather Hogan, and the Business Office staff for "their diligent work as highlighted by the unmodified audit report."



The Board accepted the retirement of the following employees:

- Cindy Phipps, Custodian, Maintenance and Transportation, is retiring after 27 years of dedicated service to the District.
- Ruth Wigfield, Bus Aide, Transportation, is retiring after 13 years of dedicated service to the District.

Susan Layne & Kelly Schaffer

Rose Tree Media School District | 308 N. Olive Street | Media, PA 19063 | 610-627-6000 | www.rtmsd.org

Board of Education

Theresa Napson-Williams President Ken Dinitz Vice President Hillary Fletcher Jackie Gusic Susan Henderson-Utis Shelley Hunt Robert Kelly Susan Layne Kelly Schaffer

Student Liaisons

Joy Chen Carys Doyle Jason Lanka

Superintendent

Dr. Joseph Meloche

More information available at www.rtmsd.org/domain/60